Miscellaneous Hampshire County, West Virginia
Obituaries & Death Notices

CEMSEARCH - OBITUARY CENTRAL - OBITUARY LINKS PAGE - SURNAME SEARCH UTILITY


First Name:
Last Name:
(The date in parenthesis represents when the full obituary was published in the Hampshire Review)

WILLIAM BLUM JR.
William Blum Jr., 90, Washington, D.C., died Monday, Sept. 24, 2001, at the Washington Home & Hospice in Washington. A memorial service will be held Saturday, Oct. 6, at noon at St. David's Episcopal Church, Washington, D.C. Inurnment will be held Sunday, Oct. 7, at 1 p.m. at Hebron Lutheran Church Cemetery, Yellow Spring. (10/10)

DOUGLAS WRIGHT DOLAN
Douglas Wright Dolan, 86, 833 Redland Rd., Whitacre, Va., died Wednesday, Oct. 3, 2001, at his residence. The family will receive friends Friday, Oct. 5, at the Giffin Funeral Home, Capon Bridge, from 6-9 p.m. A service will be held Saturday, Oct. 6, at 11 a.m., at the Redland Chapel, Whitacre, Va. Internment will be in the Woodlawn Cemetery, Whitacre. (10/10)

CARL ALLEN RHODES JR.
Carl Allen Rhodes Jr., 69, Romney, died Sunday, Sept. 30, 2001, at Long Term Care, Hampshire Memorial Hospital, Romney. (10/3)

JOAN J. MAHONE
Joan J. Mahone, 75, Parkersburg, died Wednesday, Sept. 26, 2001, at her residence. (10/3)

JOHN STERLING KING JR.
John Sterling King Jr., 80, Baker, died Saturday, Sept. 29, at Grant Memorial Hospital, Petersburg. (10/3)

ROBERT H. GUERIN
Robert H. Guerin, 69, Springfield, died Sunday, Sept. 30, 2001, at Winchester Medical Center, Winchester, Va. (10/3)

WANDA CARROLL HARRELSON
Wanda Carroll Harrelson, 41, 123 Whitacre Rd., Gore, Va., died Friday, Sept. 28, 2001, at her residence. (10/3)

GLADYS VIRGINIA MORELAND
Gladys Virginia Moreland, 85, Romney, died Tuesday, Sept. 25, 2001, in Houston, Texas. (10/3)

GERARD E. MITCHELL
Gerard E. Mitchell, 28, Denver, Colo., died Thursday, Sept. 20, 2001, at the Swedish Medical Center, Denver, from injuries sustained in an accident while at work. (10/3)

MILDRED PAULINE RUTHERFORD McCARTNEY
Mildred Pauline Rutherford McCartney, 74, of Alsea, OR, died Saturday, September 22, 2001. (10/3)

JAMES 'TOM' THOMAS SHERMAN
James "Tom" Thomas Sherman, 62, Slanesville, died Saturday, Sept. 22, 2001, at the Veteran Affairs Medical Center, Martinsburg. (9/26)

VIRGINIA PEARL SHOEMAKER
Virginia Pearl Shoemaker, 84, Bruceton Mills, formerly of Burlington, died Saturday, Sept. 22, 2001, at the Madison House in Morgantown. (9/26)

ROBERT B. MATHIAS
Judge Robert B. Mathias, 85, 100 Cedar St., Wardensville, died Tuesday, Sept. 18, 2001, at Grant Memorial Hospital, Petersburg. (9/26)

ELSIE MAE RUCKMAN
Elsie Mae Ruckman, 86, 1304 New York Ave., Martinsburg, formerly of Augusta, died Wednesday, Sept. 19, 2001, at Martinsburg City Hospital, Martinsburg. (9/26)

DONNA EVERETT SAVILLE
Donna Everett Saville, 92, of Romney, WV died Wednesday, Sept. 19, 2001 at Sacred Heart Hospital. (9/26)

OSHEL (O.P.) WESTFALL
Oshel (O.P.) Westfall, 99, of Keyser, died Tuesday, September 18, 2001, at Moran Manor in Westernport, MD. (9/26)

WILLIAM DOUGLAS DAWSON
William Douglas Dawson, 79, Cumberland, Md., died Sunday, Sept. 16, 2001, at Memorial Hospital, Cumberland, Md. (9/19)

TRAVIS L. LANDIS HOTT
Travis L. Landis Hott, 13, Bloomery, died Friday, Sept. 14, 2001, at Winchester Medical Center, Winchester, Va. (9/19)

MARGARET ELIZABETH BAKER
Margaret Elizabeth Baker, 90, Romney, died Sunday, Sept. 16, 2001, in Fort Ashby. (9/19)

LOHR 'HAP' E. DUNLAP
Lohr "Hap" E. Dunlap Sr., 80, 521 Jefferson St., Winchester, Va., died Tuesday, Sept. 11, 2001, at his residence. (9/19)

WINFRED WILLIAM ORNDORFF
Winfred William Orndorff, 96, Yellow Spring, died Friday, Sept. 14, 2001, at Winchester Medical Center, Winchester, Va. (9/19)

JEFFREY 'SCOTT' EATON SR.
Jeffrey "Scott" Eaton Sr., 45, Augusta, died Wednesday, Sept. 12, 2001, at Winchester Medical Center, Winchester, Va. (9/19)

ROXIE ARVENIA HEARE
Roxie Arevenia Heare, 73, of Augusta, died Tuesday, Sept. 11, 2001 at Hampshire Memorial Hospital. (9/19)

GOLDIE WILKINS COMBS
Goldie Wilkins Combs, 91, of Baker, WV died Tuesday, Sept. 11, 2001, at Grant Memorial Hospital. (9/19)

UCAL SHADE
Ucal Shade, 93, Unger, W.Va., died Monday, Sept. 10, 2001, at the VA Medical Center, Martinsburg. (9/12)

KRISTEN FAITH HAUG
Kristen Faith Haug, 14, 11240 Back Rd., Mauertown, Va., died Sunday, Sept. 9, 2001, at Winchester Medical Center, Winchester, Va. (9/12)

EVA PAULINE FUNKHOUSER
Eva Pauline Funkhouser, 89, Keyser, died Sunday, Sept. 9, 2001, at Sacred Heart Hospital, Cumberland, Md. (9/12)

NONA GLADYS WELLS
Nona Gladys Richman Wells, 90, Romney, died Friday night, Sept. 7, 2001, at Hampshire Memorial Hospital Long Term Care Center, Romney. (9/12)

LEO BENJAMIN HOOK SR.
Leo Benjamin Hook Sr., 66, of Paw Paw, died Tuesday, August 28, 2001 at the Winchester Medical Center. (9/12)

ROSCOE ELWOOD STOTLER
Roscoe Elwood Stotler, 85, of Berkeley Springs, died Wednesday, September 5, 2001 at his home. (9/12)

NANCY RILLA BISE
Nancy Rilla Bise, 39, Paw Paw, died Thursday, Aug. 30, 2001, at Winchester Medical Center, Winchester, Va. (9/5)

MILDRED LUCILLE MARTIN
Mildred Lucille Martin, 87, Augusta, died Sunday, Sept. 2, 2001, at Hampshire Memorial Hospital, Romney. (9/5)

JOY RUDOLPH MASON
Joy Rudolph Mason, 86, Winchester, Va., died Saturday, Sept. 1, 2001, at Hilltop House, Winchester, Va. (9/5)

IMA LOIS WISNER
Ima Lois Wisner, 89, Great Cacapon died Friday, Aug. 31, 2001, at her daughter's home in Paw Paw. (9/5)

JACK T. RUDOLPH SR.
Jack T. Rudolph Sr., 79, Yellow Spring, died Wednesday, Aug. 29, 2001, at his residence. (9/5)

JAMES EZRA GRAPES
James Ezra Grapes, 82, Ridgeley, died Monday, Aug. 27, 2001, at Memorial Hospital Hospice Unit, Cumberland, Md.. (8/29)

SAMANTHA RaANNA PUFFINBURGER
Samantha RaAnna Puffinburger, 2 days, Romney, died Sunday, Aug. 26, 2001, at Ruby Memorial Hospital, Morgantown. (8/29)

MARY LOU STUMP
Mary Lou Stump, 70, Romney, died Monday, Aug. 27, 2001, at the Capon Manor Care Home, Capon Bridge. (8/29)

LYLE D. SHANHOLTZ
Lyle D. Shanholtz, 89, Capon Bridge, died Sunday, Aug. 26, 2001, at Winchester Medical Center, Winchester, Va. (8/29)

OACIE 'MABEL' FIKE
Oacie "Mabel" Fike, 89, Romney, died Thursday, Aug. 23, 2001, at Hampshire Health Care Center, Romney. (8/29)

MARY FREDA SMITH
Mary Freda Smith, 89, Romney, died Saturday, Aug. 25, 2001, at Sacred Heart Hospital, Cumberland, Md. (8/29)

CLAUDE HAVEN HAINES
Claude Haven Haines, 86, Augusta, died Saturday, Aug. 25, 2001, at Memorial Hospital, Cumberland, Md. (8/29)

REV. DR. FOSTER COUCHMAN
Rev. Dr. Foster Couchman, 79, Winchester, Va., died Sunday, Aug. 26, 2001, at the Wisecarver Nursing Care, Winchester. (8/29)

LUZ VIRGINIA WEDDLE
Luz Virginia Weddle, 93, Paw Paw, died Wednesday, Aug. 22, 2001, at Berkeley Springs. (8/29)

DARWIN PORTMESS
Darwin Portmess, 88, Paw Paw, died Thursday, Aug. 23, 2001, at Memorial Hospital, Cumberland, Md. (8/29)

OLIVER WILLIAM MORELAND
Oliver William Moreland, 81, Paw Paw, died Tuesday, Aug. 21, 2001, at his home. (8/29)

VIRGINIA MAE JEWELL
Virginia Mae Jewell, 84, Romney, died Friday, Aug. 17, 2001, at Memorial Hospital, Cumberland, Md. (8/22)

RUTH SHAFFER CARTER
Ruth Shaffer Carter, 92, Clearwater, Fla., formerly of Grant County, died Saturday, Aug. 18, 2001, at the Morton Plant Hospital, Clearwater. (8/22)

NEIL C. POLAND
Neil C. Poland, 80, Hedgesville, formerly of Augusta, died Friday, Aug. 17, 2001, at City Hospital, Martinsburg. (8/22)

ELMER RAY ARBOGAST
Elmer Ray Arbogast, 81, Keyser, died Thursday, Aug. 16, 2001, at Moran Manor Nursing Home, Westernport, Md. (8/22)

JOHN 'JACK' INGRAM PRINCE JR.
John 'Jack' Ingram Prince Jr., 76, of Bloomery, died on Tuesday, August 13, 2001 at his residence. (8/22)

WADE JOSEPH ANDERS
Wade Joseph Anders, 42, Burlington, died Thursday, August 9, 2001, from injuries in a tractor trailer accident in Berkeley Springs. (8/15)

FRANK ALBERT WILDER
Frank Albert Wilder, 35, Slanesville, died Friday, August 10, 2001, as the result of a tractor accident. (8/15)

BENJAMIN DANTE
Benjamin Dante, 81, Keyser, died Saturday, August 11, 2001, at his residence. (8/15)

YETIVE BLANCHE POWNELL
Yetive Blanche Pownell, 61, Romney, died Thursday, August, 9, 2001, at Hampshire Memorial Hospital, Romney. (8/15)

WILLIAM 'SCOTTIE' MORELAND
William 'Scottie' Moreland, 30, of Augusta, died Tuesday, August 7, 2001 at Winchester Medical Center due to a motorcycle accident. (8/15)

ROY IVAN EVERETT
Roy Ivan Everett, 72, of Augusta, died Tuesday, August 7, 2001 at Winchester Medical Center. (8/15)

MARY PAULINE 'POLLY' ROSS
Mary Pauline "Polly" Ross, 75, 13007 Bedford Rd. NE, Cumberland, Md., died Sunday, July 29, 2001, at the Allegany County Nursing Home, Cumberland, Md. (8/8)

GERTRUDE VIVIAN FLATER
Gertrude Vivian Flater, 78, Mathias, died Saturday, August 4, 2001, at Hampshire Memorial Hospital, Romney. (8/8)

HOWARD A. JONES
Howard A. Jones, 60, Yellow Spring, died Saturday, August 4, 2001, at his residence. (8/8)

IRVING G. WESCOTT JR.
Irving Gordon Wescott Jr., 56, Purgitsville, died Thursday, August 2, 2001, at Sacred Heart Hospital, Cumberland, Md. (8/8)

STELLA MAE REYNOLDS
Stella Mae Reynolds, 78, Moorefield, died Tuesday, July 31 at Winchester Medical Center in Winchester, Va. (8/8)

BAKER T. SHAWEN
Baker Tilden Shawen, 65, Bumpass, Lake Anna, Va., died Sunday, June 22, 2001, at his home. (8/1)

MARY LUCY WRATCHFORD
Mary Lucy Wratchford, 96, Moorefield, died Friday, July 27, 2001, at the E.A. Hawse Continuous Care Center, Baker. (8/1)

B. FLORENCE SMITH
Bessie Florence Smith, 87, Ba
ker, died Friday, July 27, 2001, at Winchester Medical Center, Winchester, Va. (8/1)

JOAN KELLER CHILLEMI
Joan Keller Chillemi, 83, Charlottesville, Va., died Sunday, July 22, 2001, at her residence. (7/25)

DANIEL JOSEPH KIDWELL
Daniel Joseph Kidwell, 57, Points, died Saturday, July 21, 2001, at Winchester Medical Center, Winchester, Va. (7/25)

STANLEY C. FUNKHOUSER
Stanley C. Funkhouser, 63, Baker, died Tuesday, July 17, 2001, at Winchester Medical Center, Winchester, Va. (7/25)

CHESTER WESLEY LEWIS
Chester Wesley Lewis, 78, of Points, died Tuesday, July 17, 2001, at Dawn View Nursing Home. (7/25)

ARTHUR 'DUKE' THOMAS LANDAKER
Arthur 'Duke' Thomas Landaker, 74, of Cumberland, MD, died Tuesday, July 17, 2001 at the Special Care Unit of Memorial Hospital. (7/25)

LUCILLE LEY MOSER
Lucille Ley Moser, 88, of Cumberland, died Monday, July 16, 2001 at Sacred Heart Hospital. (7/18)

MARY C. BLIZZARD
Mary C. Blizzard, 92, Winter Haven, Fla., formerly of Keyser, died Saturday, July 14, 2001, at the Winter Haven Hospital. (7/18)

EYTHEL E. CAMPBELL
Eythel E. Campbell, 82, of Kernstown, VA, died on Sunday, July 15, 2001 at Winchester Medical Center. (7/18)

JOHN RICHARD HOTT
John Richard Hott, 46, Springfield, died Wednesday, July 11, 2001, at his residence. (7/18)

ROBERT BERNARD MARSH
Robert Bernard "Bob" Marsh, 71, Augusta, died Thursday, July 12, at Hampshire Memorial Hospital, Romney. (7/18)

NINA 'CHESSIE' FUNKHOUSER
Nina "Chessie" Leichester Funkhouser, 101, Baker, died Thursday, July 12, 2001, at her residence. (7/18)

LAWRENCE H. WELTY SR.
Lawrence H. "Howard" Welty Sr., 64, Bloomery, died Monday, July 9, 2001, at VA Medical Center, Martinsburg. (7/18)

OLIVIA HENRIETTA NOMELAND
Olivia Henrietta Nomeland, 96, Romney, died Sunday, July 8, 2001, at the Long Term Care Unit in Hampshire Memorial Hospital, Romney. (7/11)

ELIZABETH SHAWEN SELLARDS
Elizabeth Shawen Sellards, 52, Hurricane, died Monday, July 9, 2001, at her residence after a courageous battle with cancer. (7/11)

STEPHEN AILES
Stephen Ailes, 89, Bethesda, Md., and Romney native, died Saturday, June 30, 2001, at his home. (7/11)

CLARA LOREAN FREELAND
Clara Lorean Freeland, 76, Shepherdstown, formerly of Hardy and Hampshire County, died Friday, July 6, 2001, at her residence. (7/11)

GEORGE JUNIOR 'SAM' DAVIS
George Junior "Sam" Davis, 69, Romney, died Tuesday, July 3, 2001, at Winchester Medical Center, Winchester, Va. (7/11)

LLOYD R. SEARS
Lloyd R. Sears, 87, 1440 Chandell St., Keyser, formerly of Ridgeville, died Tuesday, July 3, 2001, at Heartland of Keyser Nursing Home, Keyser. (7/11)

JENNIFER WHITFIELD JOY
Jennifer Whitfield Joy, 47, Great Cacapon, died Sunday, June 24, 2001, at her home. (7/5)

CHESTER ALFRED HAYES
Chester Alfred Hayes, 83, Augusta, died Friday, June 29, 2001, at Hampshire Long Term Care Unit, Romney. (7/5)

MILO 'MUDS' PROUD
Milo "Muds" Proud, 82, Woodstown, N.J., died Thursday, June 28, 2001, at Dawn View Nursing Home, Fort Ashby. (7/5)

EMMETT E. ROHRBAUGH
Emmett E. Rohrbaugh, 82, Burlington, died Thursday, June 20, 2001, at Potomac Valley Hospital, Keyser. (7/5)

CLEMENT H. CLOWER
Clement H. Clower, 81, Salem and formerly of Petersburg, died Tuesday, June 12, 2001. (7/5)

STELLA P. COOPER
Stella Peacemaker Cooper, 92, 107 Omps Rd., Whitacre, Va., died Wedneday, June 27, 2001, at Winchester Medical Center, Winchester, Va. (7/5)

PATRICIA D. TWIGG
Patricia "Tricia" D. Twigg, 30, 2929 Sorrell Ct., Winchester, died Tuesday, June 26, 2001, at Winchester Medical Center, Winchester, Va. (7/5)


CEMSEARCH - OBITUARY CENTRAL - OBITUARY LINKS PAGE - SURNAME SEARCH UTILITY